Knit one

Standard

I’ve been meaning to start a blog for a few years now. I know myself pretty well and I know that I’ve never been good at keeping a journal, or sticking to anything for very long, or creative writing, so it seems the idea of a blog could be a disaster. However, I’ve always wanted a space to write about my children, share photos, ideas, recipes and experiences.
I live in a smallish town in Minnesota. There are plenty of small towns surrounding us which makes our smallish town seem big and brings plenty of people in our direction, heading for the mall on a shopping spree. I come from a suburban area in South Australia, so my smallish Minnesotan town is very different from where I was expecting my life to end up. That’s what brings me to tightly knit.

I believe we are all connected in a giant puzzle-like web with an amazing weaver who creates opportunities for us to fulfill His will for our life, sewing and stitching, mending and hemming as He goes. We all hear the phrase ‘it’s a small world!’ when we learn that we know a friend of a friend or see someone from a lifetime ago. Well, it took me 30 hours and 4 airports to get from my South Australian home to my Minnesotan life, so I can tell you from experience, this world is anything but small. I believe more so in this tightly knit life with threads coming from all directions. A life that draws in threads of radiant color when we need picking up and loosens the borders when we need to relax. Frays at the edges when we don’t look after ourselves and drops a stitch when our life needs some space. I found my perfect knitting partner and we’ve woven three amazing beauties. The threads in my tightly knit life are spread across two continents which just adds extra colour to my knitting project.

My tightly knit life is not much different from yours but unique at the same time. I hope to share the breath taking moments here as well as the everyday stitches and threads.

3 responses »

  1. Thanks for starting this beautiful blog, Lauren!! I completely understand about struggling to start and KEEP up a blog/journal/etc. But I know you’ll do great at this one. 🙂 Looking forward to its future! ❤

  2. A Mother’s love can never be undone, we’ll love you to the moon and back no matter where in the world you live. We love that you have grown into such a beautiful young woman and an amazing mother and wife, you are the thread that holds all our families together over thousands of miles. We are very proud of you and have suprisingly survived the long gaps in between our hugs. I feel proud that I have managed to raise two very independent girls and my heart bursts with love when I think of you and Brooke and now our three beautiful grand daughters. Thank you for making this arduous journey, we appreciate the effort and expense you have gone to to share your little family with us. With much love, Mum XX

Leave a Reply

