Morning moments

Standard

Sweet morning moments (how it usually goes):
Charlotte wakes up at 7am (no matter how late she went to bed, how does she DO that?) and drags me downstairs for some quiet cartoons and breakfast. We share in a little conversation about how much snow has fallen or what our plans are for the day. Sometimes Charlotte will remember a dream she had through the night and share it with me. One on one time with my 5 year old, even for just a few quiet minutes in the morning, is something I want to remember.

20121220-093246.jpg
Then, about an hour later, Miriam sneaks downstairs and curls in to me without a word. All warm from her sleep and sweet smelling, rolled up in a sighing ball of 3 year old girl. When she finally lifts her head to look at me she usually says, ‘Mum? I’m hungry?'(with a question, even though it’s more of an announcement).
But this morning? She said, “Mum, I gave Gianna a kiss and then I came down”
*heart melts*
Well, to be honest, my first thought was “you better not have woken her!”. But I went up to check on baby G and she was sleeping peacefully. She doesn’t even know, yet, how much she is loved by her sisters. People often speculated while I was pregnant, how the older two girls were going to interact with their new sibling. Many thought that after the initial excitement of the baby arriving that their interest would wane. Not these two! Every day since Gianna joined us, her sisters have talked to her, teaching her about kid life, cooed at her, laughed at her facial expressions and baby-isms and held her. Sometimes I have to referee between the sisters as to who’s turn it is to have Gianna’s attention.

20121220-093337.jpg
Our morning routine for the moment, allows us to get breakfast done before Gianna joins us. Oh, and when I bring Gianna downstairs after she has buried her face in to my neck, she looks up and connects with her sisters with the biggest smile on her face, so happy to see them. And then our day begins…..

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

