Muesli!….. but now I call it granola OR ‘just call me a hippie’

Standard

I make my own hummus. It’s yum and a superfood and my kids love it.
I choose to wash the diapers our baby wears rather than throw them away. Cloth diapers look so cute and come in fun patterns and colors now. They’re stupid easy to use too. (Maybe another post subject one day)
I don’t let my kids eat food that contains food dye. It’s bad for their developing brain.
As a family, we don’t eat much meat.
I often pay a visit to our local food co-op.
We don’t use bleach and you won’t find any product in this house that contains Sodium Lauryl Sulphate. Here’s why.
My kids have never had a dose of antibiotics (yet, at least. I know this may be unavoidable one day).
I’m already planning what we can garden in the spring.
Wanna give me a title? Stereo-type me?
Go ahead.
If you say hippie, I’d love it. My understanding of a ‘hippie’ is someone who makes intentional choices about their health and lifestyle, stands up for human rights and social justice issues and sees the good in others. This would be an honorable title for me to strive for. I still have far to go though.

Add to that list, ‘makes own granola’ now. I just made an irresistible recipe of granola. My favourite snack before bed, which helps me get through a night time full of breast feeding our babe, is granola mixed with plain or vanilla yoghurt and a little spoonful of my Mother-in-law’s fig preserve stirred in. SO. GOOD!

I can’t keep it to myself, so give it a try.

1/4 C oil (I used olive but I may try coconut next time for extra flavour. Here you’ll find a great oil comparison chart)
1/2 C maple syrup (or honey)
1 tsp salt
1 Tbs pure vanilla extract
2 C chopped nuts (almonds, walnuts, cashews, hazelnuts)
6 C traditional rolled oats
1/2 C shredded unsweetened coconut
2 Tbs brown sesame seeds
Cinnamon

In a small saucepan, heat the oil, maple syrup and salt. Sir in the vanilla.
Place the nuts, oats, coconut and seeds in a large bowl and mix. Sprinkle some cinnamon on the top.
Stir in the warm liquid ingredients and mix it up with your hands until the dry ingredients are evenly coated. Spread the granola on an un-oiled baking sheet or roasting pan. Bake for 30minutes in a preheated oven at 350F degrees stirring after 20minutes. Remove from the oven and stir often if you don’t want chunky granola bits. We love chunky granola bits so I just let it cool in the pan and then stir it up before I transfer it to an airtight container.

*recipe adapted from Moosewood Restaurant ‘Cooking for Health’ cookbook.

20130207-102433.jpg

Leave a Reply

